Annual Business Meeting – *Emerald Beach Hotel, Corpus Christi, TX 3/10/2017* **Board Attendees:**

Bernice Flett, President Kelly Murphy, First Vice President Billy Yost, Second Vice President Debbie Alexander, Treasurer Leah Morales, Secretary

Also in attendance:

General Membership

Meeting was called to order at 9:00AM, 3/10/2017

Leah Morales prepared to review the minutes of the last business meeting from TACVPO 2016. Shane Brown, Collin College made the motion to accept last year's business meeting minutes as they have been posted to the website for a year. Motion seconded by Allison Jouvert of St. Phillips. Carried unanimously.

Treasurer Report: Debbie Alexander presented the Treasurer's report with correction of using balance of today's date. Detail was provided to cover the bulk of the expenses in each line item. Motion was made by Leah Morales, Texas A&M to accept the Treasurer's report, seconded by Melissa Hyatt, Texas State, and was unanimously approved.

New Business:

Bernice requested local arrangements committee. The following members volunteered:

2018 San Antonio – Leo Walak (Hallmark), Vincent Vasquez & Flor Arambula (Palo Alto) 2019 Beaumont – Eric Matthews, Joel Laninguam, Norma Cumbaa (Lamar University)

Bernice requested volunteers for a planning committee for the next conference, the following members volunteered:

Two year public- Rebecca Reyes, Blinn College, rebecca.reyes@blinn.edu

Four year public- Susan Williams, Angelo State

4 year Private- Karen Freeland McMurry, <u>freeland.karen@mcm.edu</u>; Basilia Flores, Mary Hardin-Baylor

NCD- secretary was not able to log information and no one approached after the meeting as requested.

Debbie announced to the membership Wichita Falls is interested in hosting again. No action taken.

Debbie presented on the recommendation of moving membership to be based on a calendar year rather than March 1. Allison Jouvert of St. Phillips moved in support, Billy Yost of North Lake College seconded, motion was approved unanimously.

Debbie presented on term limits for the board and suggested 3 year term limits. Debbie asked for a motion to change bylaws to no member could serve in more than one position for more than 3 years. Motion made by Debbie Crosby, Texas Tech. Seconded Kelly Murphy Amarillo College. Motion was approved unanimously.

Discussion: Voting for Board – Votes were cast by raising hands, votes were counted by Billy Yost. Past President, Debbie Alexander will hold election proceedings

Call for nominations for President was presented by Debbie Alexander. Bernice Flett has agreed to serve again. Motion was made by Leah Morales for Bernice Flett to be president, second by Billy Yost. Alison from St. Phillips moved to close nominations, second by Eric Mathews of Lamar. Bernice was voted as president.

Call for nominations for 1st VP was made by Debbie Alexander. Motion was made by Debbie Alexander for Kelly Murphy and was seconded by Bernice Flett. Kelly Murphy accepted nomination. Alison from St. Phillips moved to close nominations, second by Debbie Alexander. Kelly was voted as first vice president.

Call for nominations for 2nd Vice President was made by Debbie Alexander. Motion was made by Debbie Crosby nominated Micheal Lugo and seconded by Tila Jernagan of Texas A&M Central Texas. Carried unanimously. Alison from St. Phillips moved to close nominations, second by Debbie Alexander. Mike Lugo was voted as 2nd Vice President.

Call for nominations for Secretary was made by Debbie Alexander. Currently, this position is vacant. Motion was made by Shane Brown to nominate Jaqueline Graysic, Collin College, seconded by Debbie Crosby. Motion made by Leah Morales for Tila Jernigan and was seconded by Amy Crisp of West Texas A&M. Motion was made by Leah Morales for Katherine Montalvo and seconded by Bernice Flett. . Alison from St. Phillips moved to close nominations, second by Debbie Alexander. Tila Jernigan was voted as secretary.

Call for nominations for Treasurer was made by Debbie Alexander. Motion was made by Bernice Flett for Mary Roby to serve as Treasurer and seconded by Cindy Clay of Hill College. . Alison from St. Phillips moved to close nominations, second by Debbie Alexander. Mary Roby was voted as treasurer.

Motion for meeting to adjourn at 9:45am by Jacqueline Grayzek, seconded by Debbie Alexander. Carried unanimously.

Election Results:

Bylaws revisions – all approved

Board Elections:

President – Bernice Flett 1st VP – Kelly Murphy 2nd VP – Mike Lugo Treasurer – Mary Roby Secretary – Tila Jernigan